The Church In The Crown

I have been looking after my daughter's Honda S2000 track car. I started it up and took it for a run today. I love driving it and the custom exhaust that we had made for it sounds fantastic. On the way home I took it up a lane to Great Parndon church, which I thought was disused, so that I could take a pic of the car for my daughter.

As I was shooting a couple, who had come to clean the church, arrived. It is still very much in use.  They asked me if I would like to come in and take pics of the interior. They told me all about the excitement when the crew from Netflix came to shoot scenes for The Crown earlier this year. Evidently 'the Queen' knelt and prayed at the altar with generated smoke whirling around. My images show the stained glass, including St George and a tribute to Queen Elizabeth on her jubilee in 1977. The upper central image is the unusual nineteeth century reredos made of tiles, mosaic and coloured glass.

Today's poem is Praise in Summer by Richard Wilbur. http://famouspoetsandpoems.com/poets/richard_wilbur/poems/17438

Beauty in the everyday.    

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.