Tewin Swan

On the way back from John Lewis in Welwyn Garden City I stopped off at the hide in Tewinbury. A lone swan was preening and sleeping. I took a few pics of it then a kingfisher darted through. It returned a while later and briefly perched on a branch in front of the hide. I could have kicked myself as I failed to capture it. :( When it shot through again I got a couple of images of it in flight but well in the distance. The swan took to the air briefly and that is my blip.

Today's poem is The Mirabeau Bridge by Guillaume Apollinaire. https://theboipoet.wordpress.com/2013/06/15/the-mirabeau-bridge-by-guillaume-apollinaire-1880-1918/

So many different translations of this poem. I've managed to find a link to the one by WS Merwin that is in my book. The poem about the fatality of passing time and the pain of love is believed to relate to the painter Marie Laurencin with whom Apollinaire had a four-year relationship. He had to cross this bridge to be with her.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.