"A Butterfly Attending The Embroidered Flowers"

I planned to go to the Little Gransden Air Show today but couldn't muster the enthusiasm. MrQ went off to play at The Globe in Hackney and I sat outside the back door with the camera. I shot a few planes, including a lovely twin-engined Cessna Titan in Ordnance Survey livery. I also watched the Grand Prix from Spa, which was interesting as my daughter and I drove the circuit last summer. Well done Lewis. :) Lots of white butterflies about loving the sunshine and the autumnal hawkbit.

Today's poem is The Linen Industry by Michael Longley. https://theboipoet.wordpress.com/2013/06/11/the-linen-industry-by-michael-longley-1939/

Longley says love is at the hub of all poetry. This is a love poem with an erotic charge. It's also about his love for his native Ulster. The 'bleached green' is an area where the linen was laid out in the sun, giving the effect of a snowfall. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.