Not Quite Quintessential

My daughter invited Ollie dog and me to join her and my granddog Frankie the jackapoo at a local dog show. Unfortunately Ollie is in "standing season" and like a cat-on-a-hot-tin-roof. Instead I took her for a long walk at Lodge Farm. We didn't see anyone or any dogs but she loved sniffing where they had been.

We saw a game of cricket in progress a long way in the distance. Ollie was interested but she can't have realised it was a ball game surely? It looked like what I would call a quintessential village match but through the long lens I could see that one of the players was a woman. I know women play cricket but in my day the players in village cricket were all men. Also I noticed that the bowler just lobbed the ball at the batsman without a run-up or polishing it on his flannels. I'm completely out of touch. :)   

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.