Katydid ... it again!

Three years ago a long-horned grasshopper (katydid) appeared in our cloakroom, sitting in a bowl of pot pourri. Again, today, one of its descendants arrived in the same small room, this time sitting on our toilet brush holder! Both were females with long ovipostors (for laying eggs). There are over 6000 species of Orthoptera so I'm not going to attempt to identify it further, except to say it is exactly like its great great grandmother!

It's been another fabulous sunny day - very warm - fell asleep over my book on the garden sunlounger; good job I'd slapped sunscreen all over, first - though I did forget my knees. They're a bit red on one side, but not sore.

The garden birds got used to seeing me lying there and came and went only a little less than when I watch them through the window. I love the periodic sound of their fluttering wings.

Hope you're having a lovely long weekend. Fancy having sunshine and warmth over a bank holiday; unheard of!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.