If you can't beat them...

By Jerra

Herdy.

Prepping the Lodge on my own as Clickychick had a photographic booking.  The work was increased as I had some getting ready to do for an electrician who is calling on Thursday.  When I had finished I was walking up to the bins and spotted the Herdwicks in their usual field.

This shot reminded me a lot of the logo Herdy which is found on mugs and various other items.  A couple of weeks ago the flock were a dark blackish chocolate brown.  Being sheared has revealed the new fleece in a different colour.

Herdwicks are a unique sheep, they are born black and get progressively lighter as they age.  The chocolate colour was the wool from their first year.  Now the black is being interspersed with white.  This will continue as long as they live, so the lighter the Herdwick the older it is.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.