CharlieBrown

By CharlieBrown

Good Grief 294

Notes on separation

I love this photo
I cannot, for the life of me (such irony and bewilderment in those five short words), find a way of expressing this.

A while back I mentioned making notes... https://www.blipfoto.com/entry/2338461283453503208
Today as I return to 'the crippling place' I wonder how we can ever reach these places. I was listening to a radio programme about a 'zero tolerance' approach to suicide earlier in the week and although I, of course, agree entirely with the aspiration, I find myself wondering how we can ever reach these places.
These lands, these stumbling darknesses.
They are, almost by definition I think, solitary places, and all the words that go with them ... empty, blank, void, dark, desolate, unknowing and so many more, and you can preface each with 'profoundly'.

No-one can walk with you. No-one can bridge whatever it is that separates. I'm suddenly reminded of the bridge at Avignon. No hand can reach out and pull you 'back' ... whatever 'back' means.

If I was to take a good old CBT view I would be able to describe the persistent crying, the headache, the general ache and weight, the weary exhaustion, lethargy. Non specific thoughts and blended mood that can gravitate towards despair, 'the funeral in the brain'. And there is the missing. The indescribable pain of the missing. Brief flurries of anger that are quickly consumed by their own impotence and futility.

I'm already bored trying to describe the indescribable. And that then leaves action. I will of course do something.

As is apparent in tomorrow's blip. Company can massively exacerbate feelings of separation.

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.