Sailaway

Backblip

No this wasn't my ship, this was the Cunard ship Queen Elizabeth which we sailed past on our way out of Southampton on the P&O ship Oriana. It was the only photo I took on that day and it makes me smile as we sounded our horn as we passed and she replied with a much deeper and louder horn - so we lost that contest!. I'm going on a cruise to Ireland, Iceland, Faroes, Orkney and the Western Isles with two of my sisters and one of their husbands. I think this is my thirteenth cruise - I initially went as I have a flying phobia and it's a great friendly and safe holiday to do on your own, but I also love the mix of music, shows, guest speakers (this cruise it's someone from NASA), lovely food, quizzes and of course the variety of destinations and excellent tours - you just wake up in a new port in a new country. I think this was my quickest embarkation ever - I drove in to the terminal; handed over my car keys to the parking company as porters unloaded the luggage and took it away; went in through passport control; got photographed and issued with my bar coded cruise card (to open my cabin, charge purchases and log me on and off the ship); went through security; walked on the ship and to my cabin where my luggage was waiting; and unpacked..............all in only one hour!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.