Mystery iron ore

I have resorted to blipping directly from my phone. Not only does it spare me from having to cope with a backlog of blips while away, it's also a measure to cope with the loss of my desktop computer. The blips themselves have become more random as a result.

The written entries have also had to be severely curtailed cos I can't type fast on a phone. Must try harder.

Today, we went to see Clive and Elaine in Uppingham enjoying coffee and croissants in the garden in the sun. Elaine is a keen local archaeologist. Eight years ago, she picked up a rock in a nearby field in an area known for its association with iron ore smelting. Pictured. It's mildly magnetic and has a dull metallic sheen. Clive has identified it as an iron sulphide. But where did it come from?

It's been for analysis at the OU which has confirmed that it's not a meteorite since it doesn't contain any nickel.

Len and I think it probably fell off the back of a wagon on the way to the smelting works.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.