Choral Evensong

At Southwell Minster this afternoon.

I have only just discovered the Southwell Music Festival which has been taking place this last week, and also that most of the events have been sold out, which must be a good sign.

But choral evensong was available with pieces scored by Michael Tippett and Elgar, not forgetting HH Parry's anthem, I Was Glad.

Len, Colin and I were also very glad to hear the wonderful singing of the Southwell Festival Singers, outstanding vocalists.

Not sure about Basil who came with us, but he was quiet throughout the service and was congratulated by those around us afterwards.

His head got thoroughly wet walking from the car park to the Minster but he was wearing his winter coat so I don't think he suffered unduly.

Colin invited us in for a G&T when we got home, always very welcome.

I shall be signing up for news of musical events at Southwell in the future.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.