One click at a time

By KeithKnight

September Challenge - Breakfast - Disappointment

Day 26 of the September food challenge - breakfast.

The second and last of this weeks sillyly early starts today. Last week I proved that apparently 03:30 does exist, this week I managed to prove that 03:00 exists. Not only that but at that time it can be incredibly difficult to get into London, not through lack of public transport but due to overnight roadworks.

I got onto the M1 to see signs showing that the M1 was closed from Junction 5 to Junction 2 (which doesn't make sense as you can't join at Junction 2), so I had the choice of using the A41 (which I don't know too well, especially in the dark) or as I was going in to West London, round the M25 and come in to London on the A40. Just 1 problem there - the M25 exit on the M1 was closed as well. So a further detour through Watford to bypass that. Once on the M25 the signs were flashing to warn that the M4 was closed on it's way into London, at least I didn't need to divert around that one.

So having been up so early I didn't have breakfast before leaving home, instead I bought some pots of "Instant Porridge", promising "Just add hot water for perfect creamy porridge". Once the main task and reason for the early start had been done (some time around 06:00) I added the hot water, but not surprisingly I didn't get the perfect creamy porridge promised. When I make porridge, it is slow cooked and is a nice texture and creamy, and I add demerara sugar (sorry Scottish people, I don't do salt on porridge), these don't have that flavour as an option, this one was Apple and Blueberry, and a good job they told me on the pot, otherwise I could have been wondering.

So, my breakfast for today - instant disappointment.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.