Wine,Women & Song

By CelloNerd

The Yukon Sky

I've come to learn that there are two truly magnificent events that one can look forward to each day when living out in the country: sunrise and sunset. My home, with its east-west orientation, takes full advantage of both.

For the past 15 years I've had the fortune to live on 5 beautiful acres with a full, unobstructed view of snow-capped Mt. Baker in my backyard. On a crystal clear day, it seems as though I can see the mountain right down to the base. After all this time, I still look forward to starting each day by stepping outside, gazing over the back field, and meeting the morning head on. If the rising sun hits the dewy grass just right, you can see the entire field is actually blanketed by an unending sea of delicate cobwebs. After checking in with Mother Earth, I'm now ready for some caffeine!

My favorite time of the day, however, is at sunset, especially during the summer months. Whatever I'm doing around 6pm will have to wait while I sit on my westerly facing front porch, and soak in the warmth from the last rays. Today's blip was taken after the sun was already below the horizon, casting its glow into the sky.

We will only be on this piece of land for another 45 days. The house has been sold, and a new chapter now begins. It's been wonderful, and I will always remember the home I built out on Yukon Way.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.