a lifetime burning

By Sheol

Dragon

Mono Monday: Organic

A gorgeously sunny Bank Holiday Monday in August. It is almost unheard of, I think you have to go back about 29 years for the last one that was as nice as this.  I remember it because Cathy was heavily pregnant with James (our first) at the time.  We made the mistake of driving to the South Coast and got stuck in traffic for large parts of the day.  When we finally made it to the beach it was rammed and poor Cathy just wanted to lie down in the shade and sleep.  Not clever on my part.

This week the Aphid has set us the challenge of "Organic" for Mono Monday, and hopefully this visiting dragon will qualify in all its H R Geiger organic loveliness.  Practically unchanged since before the dinosaurs I find them such fascinating creatures.

However, today didn't start well. We were invited to lunch with Incredibish and my sister Janet, so I got up extra early to be able to get some work done before we went. Unfortunately I've managed to lock myself out of the on-line work systems (long story, don't ask), so that was a waste of time.  I did sort out a tax return instead, so in the end the morning wasn't completely lost, but I am going to have to get up early tomorrow to try to make up for the lost work I'd intended to get through :-/

Lunch at Janet and Mark's was however a delight and very convivial indeed in the warm sunshine :-). My niece Charlie was back from her travels in the East, together with her boyfriend Rory.  I've eaten and drunk too much again as a result, but its been a lovely Bank Holiday - rather more restful than I'd intended but that's probably not such a bad thing.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.