Crossings

I expect the 3 bridges will be Blipped quite a lot over the next few days with the new one opening in a few hours, then closing again, and then being opened officially (on Monday, I think) etc, etc.

I thought I'd get mine in early.

6pm on 29 August.

I was planning to go to Caps' first ice hockey game of the season in Edinburgh tonight, and realised it might be the last time I get to drive over the Forth Road Bridge. When the new one is opened, the old one will be for public transport only.

I've been crossing the FRB since it opened in 1964 and driving across since I got a licence in about 1975.

Back in 1964 we (my family) lived in Edinburgh and, being economic migrants from the Highlands, all the relatives lived "up north". Easter and summer holidays meant packing into a wee car (dad, mum, younger brother, dog & cat) for the 5 hour drive.

Until 1964 we had to cross the Forth by ferry. The pier in the Blip was for the ferries. Then behind it is the FRB, and the new bridge is behind that.

Caps lost 1-2 to the University of Manitoba, but as they got the winner with 6 seconds left, it was a good game.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.