Wide Angle Wednesday . . . A is for Afloat # Hand

Another example of public art for KD.  I always look out for this sculpture when I'm driving past.  Today I walked around it because I needed  to get a hand into a wide angle shot.  It is called 'Up the creek without a paddle' by Fiona Sutherland.  It is located at the edge of the spillway pond of Orphanage Creek near Saxton Field.  It is made of dargit, a paper pulp material, mixed with sand and cement over a metal armature and is very durable.  To ensure that the sculpture is well clear of any flood waters the boat is marooned in the air as if after a flood.  A pile protrudes two meters above normal water level.  You can see that in the extra.
2nd extra is the fishing rod from yesterdays mystery macro.  Miffy, Mario and Tedwin were on the money.  It is a cane rod owned by my father.   It breaks  down into three pieces in a cloth bag.  3rd extra is the label on the bag.  The guides for the line are corroded.  I'm guessing he bought it in the 1960's.
Lastly I have left the camera set to B&W and I'm rather liking it.  I think it shows the texture of the plants better than colour would. Thanks to Steveng for hosting while Bob is off in sunny Spain.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.