Nothing happens here...

By StuartDB

The Port Appin Light Railway

Yesterday's talk of garden railways set me off thinking about the Port Appin Branch line.  In reality it would probably have been a Victorian seaside extravaganza, a true vanity project - as many were.  I've been searching my County Donegal Railway books for some inspiration, the Irish knew a thing or two about narrow gauge railways.  One only has to consider the Listowel and Ballbunion monorail to grasp their enthusiasm and ingenuity.  However my PALR would probably be more along the lines of the Schull and Skibbereen Tramways and Light Railway or maybe the Clogher Light railway.  I have a friend who travelled on this line as a child and recalls how the guard would sing out the next three stops to passengers at Balleygawley, "Ocker, Clocker and Fivemiletown".

I don't have any appropriate railbuses so for this Blip effect I've used a shell of a Melbourne tram and Photoshopped some faces in the windows.. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.