Nicky and her Nikon

By NickyR

Back home again

We had an uneventful flight home last night and got in early this morning to rain and cooler weather. Luke flew directly from Nairobi to Paris and had to be at work this morning so I am sure he is feeling very tired today. As wonderful as our holiday was, it was very tiring getting up so early every morning and then we seemed to be busy all day, getting back from game drives just before a meal with little down time in between. I was also uploading my blip after supper after everyone had gone to bed when the wifi was not being used by anyone else to allow me a stronger signal, so it was late nights every night too - I think we need another holiday to recover!!!

We were very lucky to have chosen such good camps in a well controlled conservancy - in the main reserve area outside a conservancy there can be 30 cars at a animal sighting, but in a conservancy it is limited to only 5 cars at a time. The last camp that we stayed at, Kicheche Bush Camp, is also very popular with wildlife photographers as they have vehicles with open sides, an open roof so you can stand up to get a 360 degree view, small platforms on the sides of the vehicle on which to rest your camera and they also provide camera bean bags too. Actually all the camps we stayed in had those vehicles. However, I was very pleased to get into a proper shower today when I got home and have a long shower and be able to wash my hair with no worry that the water will run out. The owner of the camp (who lives in London) deliberately wants it as close to a bush experience as possible, and refuses to provide air conditioning, hot running showers and the other mod cons that a hotel usually offers.

Everyone knows the post holiday stuff that takes place on the day you get back - despite feeling very tired from an overnight flight, groceries had to be bought, Murdoch was fetched from kennels, and laundry was done. Tomorrow should be more normal again.

After having so many photos to choose from for my Blip when I was on holiday, I am back to scrambling around trying to find something to photograph. My lack of enthusiasm for this sunflower is probably apparent in the photo - after photographing such magnificent animals for the past 9 days it feels such a come down to be taking photos of a sunflower and I can instantly feel my photography mojo disappear. Oh and I still have hundreds of photos to edit which will keep me very busy for a while..

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.