Who's who

If anybody cares to read a simple tale told simply, I, John Ridd, of the parish of Oare, in the county of Somerset, yeoman and churchwarden, have seen and had a share in some doings of this neighbourhood, which I will try to set down in order, God sparing my life and memory.

I walk up Dundas Street, bathed in cool sunset, laden with two rucsacs. The large, heavy one on my back, containing laptop and work clothes. The smaller, on my front, containing my camping equipment for the next three weeks. Despite the ambient temperature, I'm bathed in sweat when I get in the train.

Just under five hours later, I'm walking through a much warmer London to the flat. I work until Tim arrives at 6. We meet Dan at the Cock and Lion for a couple of pints and proceed to Keu on Poland Street where we have a really interesting selection of Vietnamese food.

At 9:45 I rush to find an off-license and go too far, in the wrong direction. No matter, Whole Foods have good beer and a bottle of bourbon on special offer. We spend a happy evening drinking, remembering old friends, and raiding my mother's drinks cabinet.

At some point, for some reason, Lou comes up in conversation. She used to be a wild child, went through a metamorphosis after school, and went into the family business, British Land. She's CFO.

Daniel decides to look up her dad in Who's Who. Why? Don't know - he's not there anyway. Then he looks up *his* dad - which might have been the point in the first place. Then he searches for my dad - and is impressed by the number of column inches devoted to the books that he edited. No matter - I'm only present as part of "3S" and Dan is included in "4S, 1D".

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.