1day>1week>1month>1year

By cowgirl

Bishop's Palace, Winchester

A slightly breezey and showery Winchester was our destination today. We started in the National Trust property, The City Mill.

Then we wandered along the river and onto The Bishops's Palace, which was first established in 1110.

We lunched in a lovely cafe called " Ginger Two ". I had the soup and Sav had the Salmon Stack ( both pictured in the link ).

Then it was back home to get ready for dinner with friends at The Mill, in Rode. It was delicious ...

Now I have to confess that I was supposed to be fasting as it was the beginning of Yom Kippur, the Jewish Day Of Atonement, the highest Holy day of the year.

I then forgot in the morning and accepted a cup of tea in bed from Sav!

However, I did then keep up the fast for the rest of the day, despite the fact that I worked ( also forbidden! as is driving, bathing, cleaning your teeth ... in fact there are 613 forbidden things ... well, I didn't sow seed, reap harvest or wear leather shoes at least! ).

I'm writing this after the fast has broken, on Wednesday evening. Feeling much better now after eating again. But must try harder next year!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.