CleanSteve

By CleanSteve

Garden grapes in the neighbour's tree

It has rained for a lot of the day and I didn't feel like venturing outside. so when I saw a few odd birds flitting in and out of this tree I poked my camera out of our bedroom window. 

This is the view from our bed in the mornings and I often see blackbirds nipping in at this time of year to feed on the grapes. But today there were longtailed tits and nuthatches as well.

I planted this vine in the back garden soon after we moved here. i haven't bothered to manage it particularly well and it has been allowed to wander as it will. It has now climbed thirty feet up into this tree's canopy as well as along some fencing on which the clematis and honeysuckle also roam.

the grapes are surprisingly tasty and I suppose I should think about harvesting them for ourselves. but somehow I feel it is good for the wildlife in the garden to benefit from this autumnal  abundance.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.