Life in Sunny Dubai

By GadgetKid

BYOE

or Bring Your Own Entertainment...

(Blipped on 1/9/17)

So, my second time on a budget flight. I am fascinated. These empty slots right in front of you are to anchor your own portable device... should you be someone who watches movies etc. on your tablet or phone. (I don't). Think I might have seen a couple of people put an iPad in there but not for long. I guess judging from the empty recesses on this small section of seating, people don't really need to be entertained on a flight. They can get on with reading, or sleeping, or chatting with their travel buddy, or like the people sitting in the row behind, talking and laughing really loudly about... nothing! The crew had a great attitude though, so I'll be happy to fly Monarch again.

Think I heard rain through the night. It was very welcome, as it was getting too hot. We got everything done and were even able to leave early. There were signs of Autumn everywhere and the leaves from the oak tree that hangs over the Lodge were everywhere! I had to capture it before jumping in the car. It was very helpful that it didn't rain while I loaded the car... unlike when we were off-loading at Gatwick and it started to drizzle. (Second extra)

All OK at the check-in. I was actually way under this time(!). G & I found a corner to sit and eat our rolls before the flight, when a very badly dressed young man came over and asked us to look after this rucksack as he was going to check-in! I thought that was really odd, so G kept her eye on him to make sure he actually was checking in. We soon cottoned on to what he was doing, and G made a joke about taking his rucksack to him saying we had to be on our way!!

Anyway, he eventually came back and thanked us for looking after his rucksack, and then left his trolley right next to us instead of walking a few feet to deposit it, so we made £1 off him!! And we learnt a new trick.

I have to say, the four hour flight did seem endless without entertainment. I eventually plugged in to an old mp3 player. Arrival into Larnaca was smooth and we even got bussed in right to Immigration. 
The car hire process there though is something to write a book about.

As the flight was over an hour late, the rep was less than pleased to see us (although he should have been because he could finally be on his way). Anyway, usual Cyprus car hire - it's more a case of rent-a-wreck than rent-a-car and this one had a big dent at the back (apparently it happened last night) and serious scrathes, with rust, on the left side. Oh well, we only have it for a day. I do wonder about the cars they have as often, there was  only Japanese writing on this car and the one we had in July. Normally, vehicles would be personalised to where they are exported, or at least have English!

We were hungry and the night was relatively young, so we headed to Finokoudes - Larnaca's very picturesque seafront and found a local eating place, and as we walked past the airhockey table, G actually gave me a game!

Into the flat at 11:30 and it's in good shape. There is a lot of dust in Cyprus! I couldn't help unpacking some though. Save time tomorrow... :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.