Culinary distinction

To be honest, neither the flavour or smell of garlic are a favourite of all cooks or diners.
So it begs the question whether it’s a tasty addition to any dish, or simply a smelly aromatic spice.
Yet it’s possibly the most popular culinary adjunct you can find and the reason I love it is down to that pungent aroma and flavour.  So much so, it is almost the trademark of many a restaurant in southern Europe. 
I don’t think that raw garlic is for me, but when used to flavour mushrooms, or prawns, aioli, even ciabatta or regular bread, and especially roast chicken, fish or a bake it is a winner for me.
Hence I had no hesitation in buying a string when the French onion Johnnie from Brittany was at the local market la couple of weeks ago.  Like the Brittany onions, fresh garlic like this cannot be beaten.
It is said to have health benefits too, containing many natural chemicals essential to our health.
We use it very quickly so this string will not last long, just like the string of onions.
The Breton onion Johnnie told me the garlic and onions were freshly harvested and would easily  last to Christmas!  Nonsense!  I bought three strings of onions, and have just two individual onions left and I am well into the garlic string.

Hope my Breton friend is back soon.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.