But, then again . . . . .

By TrikinDave

The Sport.

Lunch at the local flower emporium is the usual routine before our weekly shop; though strangely, it rarely provides a Flower Friday Blip. They produce a large portion of the plants they sell in their greenhouses on the premises and, I’ve noticed in the past, a small but significant number of them carry amusing (if you have the right sense of humour) mutations. This member of the aster family is growing a small flower head out of the middle of its floret cluster; it isn’t alone, there is a whole bench full of them; neither is it particularly rare.
 
As usual on a Friday, Thanks are due to BikerBear for hosting the challenge. I will post a link as soon as I find she’s posted her entry.
 
After shopping, I went to the apiary to check on the artificial swarm I created yesterday. I knew it needed to be fed as it does not have any flying bees; when you create such a colony, all the flying bees in the hive fly back to the mother colony; so, if you have just fed the swarm, they tell all their friends where there is a free lunch. Anyway, unexpectedly, and after a very discouraging start to the year, I now have the six colonies which had been my target.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.