Common Enchantments

By MaryElizaR

We almost made it!

I wanted to go up to Flat Rock, North Carolina to the Sky Top Apple Orchard today to get a big bag of Honey Crisp apples as they are my favorite.  I can find them at the grocery store but they are usually very expensive so I only get 2 or 3 at a time.   I looked online to find out if the orchard had Honey Crisp and they did so off we went to make the 2 hour drive to the orchard.  The husband decided he wanted to drive on the back road instead of the interstate so I said okay...knowing that this would add another 45 minutes or so to our travel time.    So by the time we got the Simpsonville to connect to the interstate it was lunchtime and the man was ready to eat.   So we stopped and had a good lunch (no cooking for me today as we brought home the leftover food! And why do they put that big display case of cakes and pies right where you walk in the front door! I should have had dessert only! ).   Anyway, we started back to the orchard then and as we got closer to the mountain we could see the mist and clouds were getting darker.  As we turned left to go up the hill to the orchard, the rain started coming down in buckets!   We parked under a tree near the entrance so we did not get quite soaked going into the shed where we could buy apples..since obviously I could not go out into the orchard and pick my own!  Or take photos of apples on the trees.     So I took what photos I could inside looking out and this collage is what I saw.

If only we had gone to the orchard first and then had lunch on the way home!       But we do have a big bag of fresh mountain apples!  And apple butter!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.