a lifetime burning

By Sheol

Kiss me quick

Somedays you get a blip on a plate.  While this dragonfly wasn't quite on the plate she did visit the pond whilst we were having lunch today, so I raced off to grab a camera, as you do.  

Whilst I was trying to photograph her, she kept flying right up to me, clearly investigating me.  Sadly I don't have Incredibish's amazing skills so had to settle for a shot when she wasn't in flight.

I understand that she is a Southern Hawker (aeshna cyanea).  She seemed to be busy trying to lay eggs, although she mistook one of the pots next to the pond as waterline vegetation, so I suspect that none of her brood will survive :-/

I loved the fact that she appears to have put on lipstick for this photo opportunity, whilst striking I'm not sure that its a terribly flattering shade. 

Its otherwise been another day of work. Still, I think I can see daylight ahead ....

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.