Arizona Dreamin’

By laurie54

Passing Through

Finally, my first shot of a migrating hummingbird. It's a female Broad-billed, which is also a first for me.  I've seen males passing through the yard in the past. I struggled just a bit with the identification.  The slightly de-curved bill got me excited, thinking that a Lucifer had arrived. It was the prominent white eye stripe and tiny bit of orange at the base of her bill that finally gave her away.  The color isn't great because the photo was taken just before the last light of the day (after sunset).
  
The Broad-billed Hummingbird reaches the northern limit of its range in southeastern Arizona.  They are very common in higher elevations to the south of me and in Madera Canyon.  I only get to see a few in my yard this time of year.

I suspect there are other migratory hummingbirds hanging around, most likely some Rufous.  They are the most aggresive and the only ones on the chasing end of Zippy (Costa's).  I guess, at least for a few weeks, turn about is fair play.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.