Quod oculus meus videt

By GrahamColling

Barbed Wire Mist

After all of yesterday's drama it was good to experience a relaxing, warm day.  This was taken on the way to the supermarket for an early shop.  

Both Ross and I have had calls about yesterday's rescue.  Ross is being interviewed by Radio Derby on Monday morning and Buxton Mountain Rescue Team's Media Officer has asked to be able to use the video for publicity purposes.  We are both of the view that anything we can do to help support the important work of these volunteer organisations is the least we can do.

On reflection I realise that all of our walking together has made me inured to the risks of walking on remote high ground (let alone anywhere else).  Luckily we had a mobile phone signal, but other than that we were not as well prepared as we might have been for this accident.  Walking is one of my great pleasures, but as time has gone on doing it comfortably has become more and more important.  Usually this equates to reducing the weight of the equipment I carry.  

I know you will realise that I still carry a lot of kit, but it is mainly to capture the fantastic views afforded by making the effort to enter these remote areas.  Even then dSLRs have been superseded by lighter mirrorless cameras.  Tripods are honed down to the lightest possible, lenses have to earn their place in the bag and ideally are limited to one all purpose offering.  Even so I didn't even have a reflective blanket, something that would have benefited Ross as the temperature dropped and risk of rain increased.

I know many on here love to get into the countryside.  I wonder how truly prepared we are to deal with this kind of misfortune?  Mountain Safety have given us a starter for ten with their essentials list.  Any other thoughts or suggestions?  I notice a lack of food in their list.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.