Spirit

11 years ago today, I pranged my car when someone else banged into it at some traffic lights. My parents-in-law were in the car and we were on our way to meet my wife for lunch. Eventually, we got to the restaurant and located the table my wife was seated at. She was on her work phone and was writing down information from the telephone call. She saw me coming and hid the paper, but I had seen what it had read. A friend of mine from flying training in the Royal Air Force had been killed on operations. She was getting the phonecall to begin the post-crash process. The reality of the military and it's way of life hit me hard. Leigh and I had flown together many times and had great fun doing so. He did some amazing things in his professional and personal life that anyone would be proud of. he taught me to improve my golf a little. He also once left the radar off on a flight back to the UK from Norway and wondered why the east coast of Scotland was not painting on the screen as it should have been. He laughed it off, as he did everything else - a truly amazing man.
The Butterfly is seen in many countries and religions as a resurrecting spirit, coming back to make sure people left behind are safe. Whenever I see a butterfly, I know that Leigh is still flying around, just checking that everyone is still OK. We all change and get on with life as best we can when we lose someone, but our memories keep people alive in our hearts forever.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.