the vikings are coming!

This morning I took a stroll along the seafront at Largs before it got busy. Largs Viking Festival has been held since 1980 and commemorates the Battle of Largs in 1263, which the Vikings fought against the Scots and lost. 

If you click on the link above you can read more about that and about the festival. Samba Sisters (who all arrived by bus from Dumfries at noon) were in the Grand Parade through the town and then on the stage at 4pm, as well as playing informally on the green outside St Columba's Church. Hot, sunny weather and enthusiastic audiences made this a great day out for us, and we had fun singing on the bus journey home :-)

I'm tired now, especially as there was a wedding disco right beneath my room until 1am this morning. I made my feelings known to the hotel management who have offered me a complimentary stay at another (hopefully quieter) time...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.