FarmerGirl

By FarmerGirl

Start of the day

It's hard to get out of bed when the alarm goes off at 4.40am, especially when it's so cold outside.

It was our worker's weekend off, so it was my weekend to get up early to milk. I didn't realise just how cold it was until I stepped outside, felt the coldness of the air and the frost on the vehicles. On the way to the cowshed, I stopped and was astounded at the beautiful sky, with the stars shinning bright. Normally we wouldn't see this at that time of the morning, as the fog usually comes in.

Half way through milking I went on the quad bike to put the cows away. In the hour that the bike was sitting outside, the inside and outside of the screen was covered in frost. It was cold.

I took this photo from the cowshed just as we were finishing milking. The sun was just appearing, with the fog starting the hang around the hills. It was a magical sight, and makes you appreciate what a beautiful place we live in.

The day was gorgeous. Sunny and warm. Spring is definitely here.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.