Where the Light Gets In

By DHThomas

Misty good-byes

penultimate day
our spirits low as the sky
here is our true home

A bit of the leaving blues... We're going back to our suburbs flat on Sunday, and Saturday was mostly a day of preparing to go - buying a few bags to be able to take back with us the books we bought during our summer here, cakes from the bakery to lift our spirits somehow.

Truth be told, people told me I looked merry: it's a trick I use, trying to focus on the fact that we're still here and not yet there, to better appreciate the present moment. It seems to work, if I looked happy.

In the evening, a last trip to Gü's to get a pizza we ate at home: smoked salmon, goat cheese and vegetable. Very, very yummy. And for dessert, one of the cakes we bought in the afternoon: a "Mars bar", bakery style, ie a hazelnut biscuit as the base, praline mousse and a caramel topping.

We have really spent a great two months (give or take a few days) here. We'll be back in November at the latest!

I'll try and make a selection of our stay here (don't worry, I won't bother you with it, it'll remain private). I'm curious to see what I'll come up with, as I have thousands (yep!) of photos to choose from. I don't want the result to be more than a hundred photos.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.