Yeavering Bell, with wildlife

Mr C had to make do with female company today on the group walk. We were hosting and only Ailie, Sarah, Rose and I fancied the 9 miles to Yeavering Bell, an Iron Age hill fort. Some of the route followed the 68 mile long St Cuthbert's Way which is a delightfully varied walk from Melrose Abbey to Holy Island. Today's route was a good on for my foot, very soft underfoot. It was warm, but there was quite a strong wind.

The top picture is the others with the hill Fort in the background. On the way, we spotted an adder slithering off the track into the heather, then there were the feral goats which roam the Cheviots, and luminous fungi.

Typically I did not take my big camera with the good zoom, so the adder and goats aren't very clear. However my journal is about the day, and they were part of it.

Now I have to cook - as hosts, we provide the main course and the others bring starter and pudding. Even if they can't make the walk, people magically appear for supper, so we'll be 10.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.