fotoday

By fotoday

lovely day

"When I wake up in the morning, love....."
I had the Bill Withers song in my head all day. 
When I woke up I just went straight out for a stroll along the shore to the end of the bay. A 15 minute walk that took me over 2 hours as I ambled, paused, took in the amazing view, saw the sky change colour, the sun rise over the hill behind, the bay and then shoreline light up in the sunshine. Of course I took a few photos along the way, as the light was too good to be true.

I watched some fisherman chug out in their little boats. I had a friendly conversation with a local, without either of us speaking each others language. At the end of the bay I saw a shoal of fish all jump out of the water together and then a diving cormorant type bird pop up. It dived again and the process repeated. I then stood and watched as the sun over the sea moved towards the head land  at the end of the bay and light it up. I then had another hand gesturing conversation with an old, head scarfed, lady on the front patio of her ramshackled house. She turned to her table, took a bunch of grapes and gave them to me. It was a wonderful gesture from someone who clearly lives from what she grows in her garden. I asked if I could take her photo but she wasn't keen.
On the way back a few more people had appeared and were swimming in the beautifully calm warm sea. As I walked I looked more to the land on the edge of the pebbly beach and how it had a variety of uses; a few run down houses mostly housing several family generations together, many allotments, a few small holiday villas, an olive grove, a boatyard, two restaurants and some pieces of land given over to a small garden with sun beds some with a little shed used as a sort of beach hut. I thought I was benefiting from the development of this picturesque slice of land but I so wish that it doesn't change too much more. I love it the way it is and I thoroughly enjoyed that early walk. I returned to find Dan and Lotty swimming in the sea and Lesley wandering why it had taken me so long.

The blips are a record of my progress to the end of the bay. I thought a collection of some of the boats and jetties would suit.I have many many more I could have blipped :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.