An Avid Lensman

By SarumStroller

Poplars Under the Stars

I've used these poplars quite a few times - Salisbury Cathedral peeks through between them but earlier this morning, it was stars/and or scudding clouds, tinged by the street-lamp pollution, that I was wanting them as a backdrop to.

Thirty second exposures for an hour and a half gave me just ten pictures and this is one of the couple with stars showing, as it just clouded over again.

From past experience, the poplars look a lot better without leaves and with the amount of blur through swaying, I had to keep the sharp, static base in the frame. This made it very orange and whilst editing the RAW file and trying to get more detail from the stars, the contrast and colour went up. At this point, I abandoned any ideas of a 'natural' look and let it just happen.

Lens was the 14mm Sigma on DX D7000, making it equivalent to 21mm in old money.

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.