An Avid Lensman

By SarumStroller

Silk Batiq flags under Salisbury's Spire

The Sunshine Project is a community initiative to make the elderly more inclusive and give them a chance to collectively create something, in this case, they painted these silk batiq flags.

There's 138 of them, around the perimeter of Cloister Garden in Salisbury Cathedral. I'd been asked by the overall artistic organiser to take a few - he really likes my ultrawideangles and I've photographed for him nearly ten years now.

So, get there early, 8.00 a.m. and it's cloudy and when sun does peep through, it's still too low to breach the outside walls. I tried fill-in flash and they sort of worked, they'd OK if necessary. The low angled sun suddenly burst through, shining through these flags, leaving the cathedral in silhouette. Lens was Nikkor D 17-35mm f2.8 at its widest, on full-frame D700.

I lightened that a bit in shadows/highlights as I wanted to show the line of flags at the back and also cloned out a bright blue plastic hosepipe, which stuck out into the sky. Warmed it a bit and I think it's now a fair effort. Just emailed to the client and waiting to hear if he likes it too.

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.