Quod oculus meus videt

By GrahamColling

Wolves in Wolves

A bit like the Owls (last year) and Bears (this year) in Birmingham.  A trail for people to follow to find all of the painted sculptures around the city.

I was in Wolverhampton to drop off the car for a (hopefully) final fix after the accident.  As they'd promised a return by lunchtime I decided to hang around, firstly walking along the local canal, through back waters, ending up behind the old Swan and Crane Foundry sites I had the pleasure of inspecting in the 1980s.  They are long gone, as is pretty much all of the metal bashing industry that partly helped to give this area its familiar moniker of the Black Country.  I can remember watching the molten metal being released into vast castings set into the floor of the foundries, from cold blast cupolas that still released vast amounts of smoke and dust into the air.  Oh for a camera and Blipfoto to record things in those days.  

I hadn't realised but an exhibition from the Wildlife Photographer of the Year was on at the Art Gallery.  For £4 I had the exhibition of over 100 images to myself.  It was worth every penny and I marvelled at the ingenuity of the photographers to create such compelling images.  It's on until 1st October and if you are in the area, I strongly recommend a visit.  You won't be disappointed.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.