Common Enchantments

By MaryElizaR

A walk in the woods..my happy place

I did not look at the mono Monday prompt before I left home this morning which ended up being a trip to one of my Favorite Places!    Serendipitous!

It was fairly cool this morning so we decided to go to a park in the next town that has a five mile walk along the road that circles the park.  Being in the woods is one of my most favorite places to be and this park is great because I can let the dog off leash as it is normally not heavily traveled with walkers.  We did meet up with a horseback rider today but the dog did well as she is used to being around a horse.    She was really happy to be out and about where she could explore with her nose..but after the two mile mark we could tell she was ready to go back to the car. She is getting to be an old lady dog at 6 years.    

By the time we did get back to the car after five miles, this old lady was glad to be there too!     A Burger King lunch sitting in the car with a/c running(because we could not leave the dog in the car in the heat) we headed back home.  Gypsy and Jerry took a nap!    I wanted to do that too but I knew I would not be able to sleep tonight.   Five miles is way more than I normally walk at one time but I am determined to do so.  Cooler weather is also a big motivator for me.  

Thanks to SK for hosting monoMonday!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.