East Coasting

By OzBeachcomber

Assisi, Italy

My apologies for the ugly black spot in this shot, the one that appeared on my new Sony compact not long into the Italy trip. This shot is taken in Assisi and these humble, very old buildings are very close to the magnificence of The Basilica of St Francis. They are an interesting contrast. I didn't post a photo of the Basilica as from the outside it looks just like quite a plain Church which was what I was really expecting (and to be honest I was a bit "ho hum" about the visit in the beginning and didn't take many photos). However, along with the accompaning Friary, it is quite unbelievable and well worth making the effort to visit if you are in Italy. It is actually two Churches, an upper and lower plus a crypt (where St Francis is buried) under the lower Church. It was begun in 1228 and built into the side of the hill in Assisi where St Francis was born and died. It was made a World Heritage site in 2000. The art work and frescoes inside (many by Giotto) are impossible to describe. I'm so pleased I got to see it all - an amazing memorial.
Some more detail here if anyone is interested

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.