One of My Favorite Places

I love to read in bed. The current book is Heroes of the Frontier by Dave Eggers, a Berkeley author whose first book, A Heartbreaking Work of Staggering Genius  is a memoir about raising his thirteen year old little brother when his parents both died within weeks of each other. The little brother played soccer in the same league as our kids and their story is both touching and hilarious. Eggers has gone on to write many other works covering a wide range of subjects both fiction and non-fiction. and to found 826 Valencia, a non-profit youth writing and tutoring center in San Francisco's Mission District.

Above the bed are some of my Blipfoto photographs which Dana borrowed sneaked from my computer and had printed and mounted in large format for my birthday a number of years ago. It was quite a family event to hang them perfectly evenly above the bed. Because we live in earthquake country, I have never hung anything, even a light fixture, above the bed, but these are mounted on foam core and would not cause much damage if they jumped off the wall in a temblor.

I love the French doors that open out to one section of the garden. We leave them wide open at night in the summer and just a crack in all but the coldest of winter nights. The hot tub is just outside the door and we had a deck built to surround it because hot tubs are intrinsically ugly, but looking up at a starry sky at night just before bed is magic.

There is a bookcase by David Marsh just across from the foot of the bed. It has a television on top of it which has been turned on about five times since we moved here, and then only because we are addicted to the Tour de France and it comes on live here between 4 and 5am. For the most part we record it and watch it at a more civilized time....

Above the bookcase is a group of paintings which each have a different provenance and special memory. I would rather look at them than the television most times.

I can usually be found on this bed writing my blip most days at about 3 or 4pm. Although our heat wave is winding down it has reminded me that I must get some solar shades for the two doors and the window next to the near side of the bed with the Orkney chair in front of it. 

I hated to convert this room to a mono shot because the featured colors are red, yellow and turquoise and I love them.
I put the color version in the extras..

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.