Love grows

So when I married, 40 years ago, I gave all my love to my wife. Then two boys came and I found that all of my love was able to grow to be enough to love three people as much as I had loved my wife. Now the little one who calls me Papa, comes along, 20 months ago, steals my heart and, guess what, that limitless love shows once again that it is just that - limitless. Just as well as another grandchild is due any day. I am posting a short quotation from a letter, 2000 years old, which talks about that love  - a love that grows and never dies. What a gift to both give and receive love.
"So, no matter what I say, what I believe, and what I do, I’m bankrupt without love.
Love never gives up.
Love cares more for others than for self.
Love doesn’t want what it doesn’t have.
Love doesn’t strut,
Doesn’t have a swelled head,
Doesn’t force itself on others,
Isn’t always “me first,”
Doesn’t fly off the handle,
Doesn’t keep score of the sins of others,
Doesn’t revel when others grovel,
Takes pleasure in the flowering of truth,
Puts up with anything,
Trusts God always,
Always looks for the best,
Never looks back,
But keeps going to the end.
 Love never dies."

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.