Berwick - Scottish colourists' exhibition

I got the train up to Berwick on a cheap deal, bug used my bus pass to come back. It took four times as long but there were no trains back till 7 pm.

I met my oldest friend Jenny who came by train from Fife, and her sister who drove from the Borders. We enjoyed the exhibition of work by Cadell, Peploe, Fergusson and Hunter which were part of the Fleming Collection held in London. Some of the painting we'd seen before - Peploe's Iona, Cadell's portraits, Hunter's Kircudbright, and some of the French landscapes, but I'd not seen this brass head before. A bit Princess Leah, but I like it.

We had a really nice lunch at the Maltings, which was really reasonably priced. Berwick has come up in the world since my last visit in the 1960's or so. (Woolies was certainly there then). Though the Main Street still looks run down, down by the old bridge there are some arty shops, posh wallpaper and soft furnishing establishments as well as restaurants and coffee shops.

It was a very enjoyable day and hopefully gave Jenny a bit of relief from worry about her husband, who has an appointment tomorrow to explain what form of dementia he may have and what the future plan will be.

I should be going to a talk by a woman telling us what life was like behind the veil when she lived in Saudi Arabia in the 1960s but I'm a bit tired so I may not go. I have read "Eight Months on Gazzah Street", an early Hilary Mantel.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.