Another in my series...

... of Harrogate Then and Now.

The original photograph is undated but seems likely to have been taken around the end of the 19th / early 20th century.

It was a serious challenge to take the 'Now' shot. Had I been standing anywhere near the original camera position, and looked in the right direction, the view would be mostly trees and traffic. 

So I did the best I could. This meant a serious distortion of perspective of what was, at the time of the original, the Prospect Hotel (now known as the Yorkshire Hotel) on the right of the picture.

I felt it was worth the comparison because of two major changes to the landscape. The tower was added to St Peter's Church (which I've featured in a previous blip) and the war memorial was constructed to commemorate the WW1 victims.

The shot was taken using the panorama feature on the Panasonic TZ90. It is a very useful feature but you get some odd results with panoramas; stretched or collapsed cars were the pain today. I did wonder whether the tree that features large in my shot was the same one as seen in the original.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.