Still around

Although the temperature has dropped we're still getting a few butterflies in the garden, mainly Red Admirals.Just thought, I threw some over ripe plums in the bin which I could have put out for them.
I was not inspired to take many photos today, the light was flat and not alot going on in the garden.
Watching a BBC programme from 1969 about the boat Pole Star that serviced the Lighthouses in the North of Scotland, very interesting. They used to have two kettles one for the tea and one with string round the handle holding salt water for washing. Must have been a hard life especially if you were on a Rock Station.
In fact Just looked at marine traffic as I thought I recognised the name and a boat with the same name was in the Firth yesterday, I was watching her, and she's now moored in Inverness. This one was built in 2000 and still owned by The Northern Lighthouse Board.
Flannan Isle mystery of the missing Lighthouse keepers was also mentioned reminding me of Peter Mays novel :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.