Corporate Identity

Today we dropped into Birsta retail park, (otherwise known as the Temple of Mammon), just outside Sundsvall.  Jan needed some picture-frames and disappeared into the maze, while I took advantage of the free cup of coffee and free wi-fi.
So which shop was I in when I took this picture? The words you may have problems translating say "Entrance, Furniture display... As befits Blip users it's an international chain, found in 53 countries across the world, though not in Africa or South America.
I think most people who have ever shopped in this store will know which one it is. But how do you know? Which element of the picture told you? I took one picture with just the letters IN on the blue background (See thumbnail). Would that have been enough?
I know companies work very hard to build and protect their corporate identity but this isn't a new idea. I remember when I first got into photography in the 60's a certain yellow box and typeface was instantly recognisable for any purchaser of film, anywhere in the world! The difference now perhaps is that there are so many more global brands than there were in those days.  Is that good or bad? Perhaps it is both good and bad! I reserve my judgement on that point.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.