Centre-barred sallow

Found two of these little guys this morning and fell in love with their suits of amber.  The great thing about starting off moth trapping is that every night I set up seems to reveal a new species.  

Moth names are fantastic.  Sallow: (of a person's face or complexion) of an unhealthy yellow or pale brown colour.  I guess if my face were that colour, I'd be off to the doctors!

I also had a mouse moth which, it's true, is rather a bland brown with three dots.  I thought it would be called a mouse moth for its mousey hair but no, it's because when it's trying to go into hiding, it runs rather like a mouse.  

It takes me ages to ID the moths but I'm definitely learning and the guys at Moths UK Flying Tonight on Facebook are fab for helping out.

So, I was up at 6, had two breakfasts before 10, have taken Little Dog on the moors and had fun creating a flyer for Liz's dog behaviour business. She's just heard that she's got a distinction for her business plan unit so the hours spent on that the other week were worth it.  One more unit to go and she's fully qualified but already has three glowing references!  A good sign and a great boost.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.