Water park

I headed east and Rich west today. My water park was the Tavira salt pans, Rich's (along with Gary and sprogs), Aqualand.  

I left before the heat built up and had an impromptu walk around one of the pans. The black-winged stilts were my favourite but I also had a flyby from a flock of avocets. It's a hive of activity; from people too. There were a couple of Portuguese men using some kind of drainage machine and shovelling the salt up in banks along the edge. 

An hour or so later, I moved to another venue and was delighted to spot flamingoes, spoonbills, a white stork and an egret. Here, the men were wheelbarrowing the salt. It all seems to be by hand, hot and hard work! 

On that note, it was getting hot and I headed back for a siesta and slouch in the dark, cooler confines of our apartment. I didn't venture out again until gone 4pm when I was over-the-moon to discover a good breeze.

I wandered around the tiny streets and alleyways, finding an ice lolly on the way, mooched in the sun with the bird book on a bench along the front before heading back to shade.

Tonight's been another fine seafood meal back at Casa do Polpo. Luckily, we're both breathing garlic fire! And a fine spot from Rich on the walk back... The Vuelta was on in a bar so we had an impromptu stop to watch the last 13km climb to the finish. It's been far more exciting than the Tour and both of us have had withdrawal symptoms! Hoping to be able to watch some on catchup before it disappears.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.