Ripples on Dark Water

My friend told me he is having trouble letting go of the past. Not because the past was so wonderful, but because it held great pain for him. A pain that he could never seem to leave behind.

I asked my friend to try to find things that help him focus on the present instead. The thing that does it may be different for each of us - photography is a thing that does that for me. Even if I only do it for five minutes a day. Or twelve minutes. Or (on a happy day) even more . . .

Seize the time you have. Do something that grounds you here in this present moment, the only moment that exists. The past and future are countries we can visit, but never truly live in. Those places don't exist, except in your mind. Seize the now. And let the rest of it go, like ripples on dark water.

The soundtrack: Fleetwood Mac, Never Going Back Again. Here's just Lindsey. Here are Lindsey and Stevie. And here's the whole crew.

(For the record, this is a monochrome reflection image of water droplets creating ripples on dark water after rain, beneath the black willow at Millbrook Marsh.)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.