Quod oculus meus videt

By GrahamColling

Memories of 1970

I clearly remember the TV coverage of the salvage of the S.S. Great Britain from the Falkland Islands in 1970.  it took a long time but we finally got the chance to visit the ship today.  It was a fascinating couple of hours, with a true appreciation of life on board due to the restoration.  It even included baking smells near the ovens of the galley. However, we could have done without the smells they piped through some areas of the ship.  Anyone who has visited and walked through Steerage will probably know what I mean!

I again popped out early, visiting the top of Cheddar Gorge.  To get the shot of the road I literally held the tripod out at arms length above the gorge (Despite loving going up mountains I'm not the greatest lover of heights!.......or should I say I have a fear of falling).  On the way back the sun made a brief appearance above Chew Valley Lake (see extras).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.