Old White Face to the rescue!

The last time we saw Old White Face or any other deer around our place was about three weeks ago when Kalyn and Markus were here.  It's been so hot, and I think they've been staying in the forest where it's cooler.  There's sign that they've been around at night though.  The theme this week is Wildlife, and I thought I was out of luck - what a week for the deer to disappear!  Then just after noon, I was taking out a bucketful of compost after I'd cleaned up in the garden, and there was Old White Face!  I decided to empty the bucket as close to her as she'd let me get to see if she'd come for a snack.  It's so dry that it's slim pickings for food just now.  After I backed away, she came to investigate and helped herself to some lettuce leaves and beet greens.  Thanks, White Face, for showing up!
I didn't think she'd make it through last winter but she's a tough old doe, I guess.  I'll be surprised if she makes it through this one.  She's been around here for a long time and I'll be sad when she's gone.  I enjoy my conversations with her.  :)
Extras:  The sun was still bright orange this morning, and I took a shot of its reflection in the harbour and in the window of the little church.
It is cooler today though.  We just might get some of the rain that's forecast.  Fingers crossed!  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.