Arizona Dreamin’

By laurie54

Red Light

I live in a townhouse. That means my house is attached to my neighbor's.  In fact, the entire street is composed of townhouses.  And they all look alike. I have always told those coming to see me to look for the green pot up next to the garage door.  That works during the day but when it's dark, it's virtually impossible to tell them apart. There have been times that I have even driven past my own home.

Last Christmas, I thought it would be cool to change the bulb from the white used by every other homeowner to a holiday color. So I put in a green bulb.  I soon learned to love it. I live close to the middle of the  block and I could spot my house from the time I turned onto it.

That's when Michele, who lives two "driveways" away, put a green light in front of her place.  Dang!  Not only did it confuse me but it took away from my brilliant  creativity.  So, I went back to the hardware store and bought a red bulb.  Obviously, Christmas has long passed but the red (and green) remain.  More than half of the houses on our street are owned by snowbirds. When they're in town think that Michele and I are a little "off" anyway.  The year-rounders have gotten used to us.

I love being different.  :P

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.